Date: 17-09-2019

Announcing the Program and Keynote Speakers of International Conference Equality and Inclusion

Tags: equity, ISOTIS

How can our early education and family support systems be improved to give all children a head start in life? How can we support the professionals working in these systems? What are effective models of interagency collaboration and local governance to increase equity and inclusiveness in our societies? These are the key questions that will be addressed in a varied program of keynotes, symposia and workshops at the conference in Utrecht, the Netherlands, on 28-29 November 2019. The program of the Conference is available and can be seen here.

Conference Strands

The conference is organized along three strands, with keynotes, symposia and interactive workshops for each strand, allowing ample time for discussion and exchange:

  1. System characteristics, governance strategies and economic aspects of (early) education and child and family support services.
  2. Family characteristics and parents’ acculturation attitudes, educational aspirations and investments in the informal education of their children.
  3. Inclusive intercultural practices in (early) education, professional development and educational technology for multicultural and multilingual classrooms.
Who is it for

The conference welcomes professionals, policymakers and researchers to share experiences focusing on early childhood education, primary education, integrated family support services, professional development approaches, and technology-supported intercultural and multilingual pedagogy.

The conference features the international project Inclusive Education and Social Support to Tackle Inequalities in Society (ISOTIS, funded by the EU) and several other projects.

Keynote speakers of the Conference are:  

Jim Cummins (University of Ontario), Emilia del Bono (University of Essex), Edward Melhuish (University of Oxford), Maurice Crul (Free University of Amsterdam), Vibeke Grøver (University of Oslo), Piet van Avermaet (University of Ghent), Jacqueline Barnes (Birkbeck College London), Yvonne Anders (Free University of Berlin), Sanne Akkerman (Utrecht University).